At Texasautoinsurancequotes.org, we are committed to finding the best value for your insurance dollar. Shopping for auto insurance is similar to shopping for any major item (a car, house, etc.). To find the best price and quality, start with comparing companies and products. Enter your zip code in the our quote box below to compare quotes from the leading carriers in your area.
Every state has rules and regulations regarding auto insurance and the minimum requirements drivers will need to carry. Presently, the State of Texas requires drivers to have property damage liability and bodily injury liability insurance. In addition, drivers must have proof of insurance with them at all times while driving.
You’ll be asked for proof of insurance if:
- You’re in an accident
- Your car is inspected
- You’re renewing or getting a new license
- You’re registering your car or renewing registration
A police officer asks for it:
- Failure to comply with Texas’ financial responsibility laws could result in penalties.
- First Offense: Fine ($175-350)
- Further Offenses: Fine ($350-1,000), License Suspension, Car Impounding
Texas Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
The minimum liability insurance limits for the State of Texas are 30/60/25. This means you’ll need to have at least $30,000 of bodily injury coverage for each person injured to a maximum of $60,000. In addition, you’ll need up to $25,000 in coverage against property damage. Keep in mind that this is the bare minimum, and that many drivers often opt for additional coverage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Texas (TX)
The State of Texas doesn’t require UM/UIM coverage; however, it can be very helpful. As the names suggest, it will cover you if you’re in an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance.
Additional Information on Texas Car Insurance
Texas is not considered a no-fault state, and therefore doesn’t require you to get Personal Injury Protection or PIP. PIP is like liability insurance as it will cover you for medical expenses, lost wages, among other damages. However, the difference lies in the fact that it will cover you, the policyholder, no matter who is at fault.
Texas also presently requires SR22 filings in order to reinstate licenses. These documents provide proof that you’re complying with the law by carrying the minimum levels of auto insurance required. It’s only necessary to be filed by people who have lost their driving privileges and are looking to get them back.
Texas also has a set of DUI laws, as all states do. If you’re found driving under the influence, you could face the following penalties:
- Imprisonment (72 hours – 180 days) OR (180 days – 2 years if a minor under 15 was present)
- Fine (Up to $2000) OR (Up to $10,000 if a minor under 15 was present)
- License Suspension (90 days – 1 year)
- DUI Surcharge ($1000 per year for 3 years) OR ($2000 per year for 3 years if your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.16% or higher)
If you require any further information please visit the Texas Dept. of Insurance online at www.tdi.state.tx.us or call them at 800-252-3439. You might also want to check out this price comparisons tool by TDI that can help you compare rates among companies that sell liability car insurance coverage in Texas. These sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the carriers listed. Your actual premium will be based on your individual circumstances and could be higher or lower than the sample rates shown.
To get FREE Texas Auto Insurance quotes from the top providers in your area, simply enter your zip code into the search box above.Texas State Facts
Texas State Government Website