• Texas Auto Insurance Quotes

    Auto insurance rates vary among providers, so it always pays to shop around and compare quotes. At TexasautoInsuranceQuotes.org, we hope that the following info can help you find the best deal for your money.

    Auto Insurance in Texas

    Every state has their own rules and regulations regarding the minimum levels of auto insurance coverage that drivers are required to carry. Presently, Texas requires bodily injury and property damage liability insurance. The limits required are: 25/50/25.

    What these numbers 25/50/25 mean is simply that you must have up to $25,000 of coverage per injured person in an accident to a $50,000 maximum per accident. In addition, you must also have $25,000 of coverage for property damage expenses.
    However, please be advised that this is only the minimum required by the state and that many drivers often opt to get additional coverage.

    Texas SR-22 Requirements

    SR22 filings are required in the State of Texas in order to reinstate a license. These documents are needed in order to prove that the driver in question is complying with state regulations and that they are carrying the minimum level of auto insurance required. Generally, only people who have had their driving privileges revoked in the past and are trying to get them back need to apply for this.

    Texas DUI Laws

    If your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08% or higher, you are considered DUI (Driving Under the Influence). The following are penalties assessed if you are stopped and convicted of DUI:

    First Offense

    • Imprisonment (72 hours – 180 days)

    – (180 days – 2 years if there was a minor under 15 present)

    • License Suspension (90 days – 1 year)
    • Fine (Up to $2,000)

    – (Up to $10,000 if there was a minor under 15 present)

    • DWI Surcharge ($1,000 per year for 3 years)

    – ($2,000 per year for 3 years if your BAC was higher than 0.16%

    Second Offense

    • Imprisonment (30 days – 1 year)

    – (180 days – 2 years if there was a minor under 15 present

    • License Suspension (180 days – 2 years)
    • Fine (Up to $4,000)

    – (Up to $10,000 if there was a minor under 15 present)

    • DWI Surcharge ($1,500 per year for 3 years)

    – ($2,000 per year for 3 years if there was a minor under 15 present)

    • Ignition Interlock

    Third Offense

    • Imprisonment (2 – 10 years)
    • License Suspension (180 days – 2 years)
    • Fine (Up to $10,000)
    • Ignition Interlock

    Implied consent law states that if a police officer pulls you over for suspected DUI and you refuse testing, your license will be confiscated and you will be given a temporary driver’s license.

    During your hearing, your refusal to comply will be used against you, and chances are you’ll lose your license anyhow.

    Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

    There is currently a texting while driving ban on all drivers with passengers under 17 traveling with them, as well as drivers with an intermediate license or in their first year of driving. In addition, there is a general cell phone use ban for anyone with passengers under 17 traveling with them, as well as drivers with an intermediate license or in their first year of driving. To learn more about the state of Texas, visit Wikipedia.  You can find more information on Texas homeland security on their site.

    Find cheap car insurance in Texas in less than 5 minutes! Compare free Texas car insurance quotes here.

    Texas State Facts
    Texas State Government Website

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *